Jamie Allen Black, Executive Director
Jamie oversees all activities of the Foundation including grant-making, development, advocacy, and operations. She brings more than 25 years of nonprofit leadership experience to the Foundation, most recently as the Director of Strategic Initiatives at Big Tent Judaism. There, she worked with the staff and Board to create inclusive and diverse Jewish communities throughout North America. Jamie also served as the Director of Strategic Planning, Communications and Training at Hadassah, where she mentored and trained professionals and Board members with development portfolios and created and implemented a multi-year strategic fundraising plan with innovative strategies for increasing donor participation. Jamie was a founding Board member of A More Perfect Union—an organization serving women recovering from domestic violence, drug addiction, and homelessness in facilities in New York City and Westchester. Jamie graduated from New York University from which she was awarded the NYU Dean’s Alumni Award for Humanitarianism in 2010. She is a Board Member of the Elizabeth A. MacDonald Foundation and sings in the Community Choir at Central Synagogue.

Stephanie Blumenkranz (Harz), Assistant Director
Stephanie oversees the New York Metropolitan grants process as well as the Foundation’s advocacy work. She also partakes in the Foundation’s fundraising efforts, marketing and events. Before working at JWFNY, Stephanie was an External Affairs Associate for the Institute for Children, Poverty, and Homelessness, where she led national conferences, was assistant editor of the Institute’s largest publication and managed development & communications initiatives. She also has experience with the New York City Administration for Children’s Services (ACS), as the Special Assistant to the Commissioner, where she analyzed grant proposals for ACS funding and was integral in the creation of the ACS educational web-portal. Stephanie obtained her Master’s degree in Education Policy from New York University and her undergraduate degree in Public Policy and Special Education from Vanderbilt University.

Rachel Siegel, Program Manager
Rachel oversees the Israel and Start-Up grants process, manages the Foundation’s communications strategy and represents JWFNY in the Jewish Women’s Funding Network. Prior to joining the Foundation, Rachel received her Master of Science in Social Work with a focus in Social Enterprise Administration from Columbia University.  During her graduate studies Rachel completed an internship with UJA-Federation of New York where she aided in the grantmaking process for older adults, including a new initiative for voluntarism in the Baby Boomer cohort.  Earlier, Rachel served as the Marketing and Communications Assistant for the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (JDC), where she was responsible for assisting with the organization’s marketing efforts and coordinated the staff and board delegation to the Jewish Federation of North America’s General Assembly conference.  She also participated in the Jewish Communal Service Corps Fellowship at the Hillel in Philadelphia, where she was responsible for student engagement in Jewish life at Temple and Drexel Universities.  Rachel received her undergraduate degree from Binghamton University.

Miriam Libove, Operations Facilitator
Miriam’s responsibilities span financial, development, and administrative support. She oversees the JWFNY QuickBooks and donor management systems, and acts as a liaison to the JWFNY Treasurer and Finance Committee. Miriam also facilitates communication with supporters and grantees, and maintains the JWFNY website. Miriam has worked as a Logistics Manager, a Program Officer, and a Marketing Consultant. She also spent more than 7 years as a Community Relations and Business Development Manager for Barnes & Noble. Miriam holds a mini-MBA in Social Media Marketing from Rutgers Business School, an MA in Jewish Studies from the Reconstructionist Rabbinical College, and a BA in Communication from Rutgers University. In her spare time, Miriam sings lead vocals with the Odessa Klezmer Band.

Comments are closed.

  • Miriam Caslow, President
  • Shelly Mitchell, Secretary
  • Deborah Russell, Treasurer
  • Marilyn Gottlieb, Immediate Past President & Nominating Chair


  • Kathryn Weg Brandt
  • Ruth Brause
  • Debbie Cosgrove
  • Susan S. Dubin
  • Avra Gordis
  • Phyllis Herz
  • Aela Boyum Morgan
  • Sheri Sandler
  • Debra S. Silverman
  • Nancy Schwartz Sternoff
  • Marilyn Thypin
  • Rachel Weinstein
  • Frances Brandt
  • Madeline Caslow
  • Madeleine R. Grant
  • Fern Hurst
  • Betsy Landis
  • Klara Silverstein
  • Peggy Tishman z''l
  • Lynn Tobias
  • Arlene Wittels